Antwerp 2022 – Awards Ceremony

BELNUC would like to thank all authors for the numerous abstract submissions!

Please find the winners of 2022 here:

Medical (BELNUC award) 3 awards
  • 1st price (400,- Euro) – Disturbing the redox balance as a new radiosensitizing strategy for Peptide Receptor Radionuclide Therapy with 177Lu-DOTATATE. Wendy Delbart (Institut Jules Bordet, Anderlecht)
  • 2nd price (200,- Euro) – [18F]AlF-NOTA-octreotide vs. [68Ga]Ga-DOTA-somatostatin analogue PET in neuroendocrine tumour patients: interim results of a prospective multicentre trial. Elin Pauwels (UZ Leuven, Leuven)
  • 3rd price (100,- Euro) – Yttrium-90 radioembolization versus drug-eluting beads chemoembolization for unresectable hepatocellular carcinoma: results from the TRACE trial. Bieke Lambert (UGent, Gent)
Young Nuclearist Challenge  3 awards
  • 1st price (300,- Euro) – Breaking the oculo-(para)neoplastic reflex on FDG-PET/CT: cerebellar hypermetabolism in a Hodgkin lymphoma leads to an unexpected diagnosis. Eef Vanerwegen (Imelda Hospital, Bonheiden)
  • 2nd price (200,- Euro) – The nerve-racking case of [18F]PSMA-1007 PET/CT in a patient with continuous low back pain. Anne-Leen Deleu (UZ Leuven, Leuven)
  • 3rd price (100,- Euro) – Just a little RE(nal)SPECT. Geraldine Lens (UZ Leuven, Leuven)
Technologist  4 awards
  • 1st price (250,- Euro) – Implementing Lutetium-177 PSMA ligand therapy:  practical aspects concerning radioprotection and dosimetry – Luna Belmans, Atheneum Gentbrugge
  • 2nd price (150,- Euro) – Logistical analysis of the individual “whole body” dosimetry of personnel professionally exposed to ionizing radiation in Belgium, over the last 10 years. Ana Mafalda Pereira Gomes (Vinçotte S.A, Vilvoorde)
  • 3rd price (100,- Euro) – Design of an integrated Radiopharmaceutical Supply Chain (SC) to enhance its overall Supply Chain Performance Methodology. Haingo, Rabarijaona (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels)
  • 4th price (100,- Euro) – Can a third party software vendor (MIMVista) match the image quality of native software vendor? Bram Van Landeghem (AZ Jan Palfijn Gent, Ghent)
Radiochemistry and Radiopharmacy  1 award
  • 1st price (400,- Euro) – Development and preclinical evaluation of [11C]HSP990 as an Hsp90 PET brain probe and potential biomarker for diagnosis and follow up of CNS disease progression. Romy Cools (Laboratory for Radiopharmaceutical Research KU Leuven, Leuven)
Physics and Engineering  1 award
  • 1st price (400,- Euro) – Feasibility of lesion dosimetry assuming constant pharmacokinetics over cycles in patients treated with 177Lu-DOTATATE. Rachele Danieli (Institut Jules Bordet, Anderlecht)